RSS Feed

Getting to know you (Part 3)

Finally the last chapter in introducing our pups to the world.  This one is a little more special to me.  Buddy is not only my baby boy, he is my life saver. 

I was first introduced to Buddy by a former person in my life.  This person had bought him from a family that owned a local business and their dog had puppies.  They got Buddy so they could have a friend, only this person had zero experience with a dog, never less a puppy.  Within a few days I got a phone call asking if I would take him.  They couldn’t handle all the work involved with a puppy. I said no right away.  I was living in a small townhouse with three cats and I didn’t like pit bulls at that time.  I wasn’t afraid of them, I was just unfamiliar and thought it was too much to take on. But when I saw his sweet tiny face I couldn’t say no.

The first day I met Buddy
 
I agreed to take him ONLY on a temporary basis.  I was going to contact a rescue to help me find him a good home.  I would “foster” him until it was all set to go.  Buddy’s owner agreed.  Next day I contacted the rescue and they agreed to find him a home but I needed to vet him first and send them pictures.  I was concerned about his health as he had this huge belly.  Brought him to our wonderful family vet and the confirmed he had worms.  We dewormed him and scheduled his vaccinations.  When that was done it was time to wait.  I figured I would spend my time with him housebreaking and training.  Buddy was amazing.  Such a fast learner!! The first couple nights I had him I slept on the floor near his create(in my room) so he could smell me there.  Otherwise he would just cry all night.  We started to bond. I didn’t want to bond with him.  But he was just this sweet adorable puppy.
 
Buddy and his chubby tummy
 
Finally the day came when the rescue called saying the had some potential adopters but they needed them to meet Buddy first.  All of a sudden I didn’t want to give Buddy away.  It didn’t help that Buddy’s original owner was pushing for me to keep him, along with my sister (roommate) and friends.  The only people who really wanted Buddy to go was my parents.  The did NOT want me to have a pit bull (now they love their grandpuppies so much). I spent a lot of time thinking about the choices.  I decided keeping Buddy was not only the best thing for him, but for me as well.  I was at a cross-road in my life and he was there to help me choose a path. 
 

Tweenager Buddy

 
 Everything I did was for him.  I enrolled him in puppy training classes, which he mastered! We would go on long walks every day, go to the dog park and play, and even started hiking together. He was growing into a very nice young man. Buddy and I were inseparable.  Without Buddy I wouldn’t have learned just how amazing pit bull type dogs are.  We’re not sure if Buddy is 100% pit bull.  We all think he is a lab mix.  His long muzzle and his affinity for balls.  But either way he opened my eyes to so many amazing things and so many amazing people. 
 
Doggie Adventures
 
 
Buddy is the sweetest, funniest, craziest, loving dog I’ve ever met.  There’s not a person or a ball he doesn’t love.  Buddy was my world and he is partially what brought M into that world.  Without Buddy I wouldn’t have ever wanted to date someone with a pit bull type dog, never less actually want to find someone who loved pit bulls.  When I saw photos of Bella and Devo I knew right away M was something special.  Eventually we let them all met and it went over so well. Devo was a little grumpy and jealous at times, but Bella and Buddy were like BFFs.  They still are today.  It’s so wonderful to think back on the way we all got here and how I wouldn’t change a thing. 
 
Me and Buddy
2 responses »

  1. Hi there! New reader here enjoying what I’ve read so far. Just wanted to let you know you have another fan who will be keeping an eye on the blog! Cuddles to Devo, Bella, and Buddy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

