RSS Feed

We’ve been busy!

A while back I posted about how we had a couple projects brewing up over here in Adorabully land.  Well, I finally have time to explain one of the fun projects.  It all started with me standing in the isles of Ross, Marshalls, and various pet stores staring at dog bed.  Totally unsatisfied with the selection and the price.  So I decided I will make beds!! In my mind it seemed easy enough. Find some adorable, soft, comfy fabric and put it together and stuff it with something.  Off to the craft store I went.  Picked out some adorable prints to match each dogs personality and thought up a design concept. I got the idea to make a knotted style bed. Easy, no sew, and cute.
Knotting away
 
It was quick and easy and looked so adorable with the knots forming a trim.  Each of the beds had a coordinating, contrasting bottom so it could be flipped over and be a whole other look!
 
All Done!
 
Now we just have to try it out!
 
He likes it! He really likes it!
 
 
Feeling the thrill of success, I decided to make another one right away for Miss Bella.  Her kennel is a little smaller than Buddy’s so I tried to size her bed accordingly. 
 
Uh Oh, it’s a little small
 
Bella’s turned out a little smaller than I had hoped, but she still loved it all the same.  I made Devo one as well but for some reason didn’t get any post production photos.  I had stuffed Buddy’s and Devo’s with some foam sheet I had left from a previous craft project. Bella’s was just an old blanket and stuffing.  It was time to tuck them all in for the night and let them enjoy they’re new special beds.
 
Snug like a bug in a rug
 
 
I really should have taken more photos.  I really shouldn’t have stuffed the bed with foam.  I really should have done it differently.
 
At first when I came home that day after making the beds, I thought I would see three dogs all snuggled in their new bed.  Instead I came home to this. 
 
RIP Pirate Bed
 
But I convinced myself it was just Buddy who killed his bed.  The other two were fine.  Nothing to worry about.  He destroys everything anyway.  But then a few days later….
 
RIP Monkey Bed
 
I have learned that foam and dog beds do not mix.  I realized after that the foam is hard and when they dig to make a comfy spot, the foam doesn’t move with the bed.  Lesson learned.  I have since changed my bed making style and am currently trying out a couple different techniques.  I’m making some beds for some friend and will let them see how they hold up. Since I know my dogs can destroy anything, I wanted to see how other dogs fair.  I have currently finished 2 of 5 beds I’m making. I’m testing out some new fabrics, some new techniques and styles. 
 
2 down 3 to go!
 
 
Only time will tell how successful these beds are and if I can keep it up!
 
2 responses »

  1. I found my way over from Two Pitties in the City. Good luck with the bed experiment! Personally, the knotted fringe would be really tempting for my dogs to chew, so I’d guess that the sewed cover would be most successful.

    Reply
    • Welcome! Surprisingly our three didn’t really chew on them. But I did make changes to the new ones and actually did a triple stitch behind the knots just incase they get chew happy.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

